Skip to content


BrowserID, meet XMPP.

Identity and Privacy are a growing concern on the Internet nowadays, and there have been different attempts to solve this.

One of the most recent ones is BrowserID. The XSF believes however, that building upon the strengths of XMPP would be a great way forward for the BrowserID concept, due to its inherent federation, proven Internet-wide scalability, and decentralised architecture.

This is why the XSF has decided to support projects that demonstrate the use of XMPP for BrowserID purposes. In order to do this, the first step is to get a Request for Proposals designed, so that the XSF can establish criteria to decide which projects to support financially.

We’ll have an initial open discussion tomorrow:

Time / Date: 15:00 UTC (16:00 UK; 17:00 CET, 11:00 EDT, 08:00 PDT) / 05.05.2012
Location: xsf@muc.xmpp.org

So if you’re interested in joining us to shape the future of Identity on the Internet, please drop by!

Posted in adoption, community, events, interop, standards.