Skip to content

Editor Team

The XSF’s Editor Team, formed in early 2014, is responsible for performing the duties of the XMPP Extensions Editor and the XMPP Registrar. The current members of the team are:

  • Steffen Larsen
  • Matthew Miller
  • Peter Saint-Andre
  • Stefan Strigler
  • Winfried Tilanus
  • Ashley Ward
  • Lloyd Watkin

NOTE: In order to send email to the team (via, you MUST include the string “XEP” in the subject line!

Additional resources can be found at the wiki page.

The charter of the team is as follows:

Since 2001, the XMPP Extensions Editor has managed numerous details
of the XSF’s Standards Process (see [1] and [2]) and has also
functioned as the responsible party for the XMPP Registrar (see [3]
and [4]). In order to manage these processes in a sustainable way,
this charter defines an XSF Work Team with the following goals:

1. Refine and continually improve team work processes for management of
the XEP Editor and XMPP Registrar functions, consistent with XEP-0001
and XEP-0053.

2. Put those processes into practice by efficiently dispatching the
responsibilities of the XEP Editor and XMPP Registrar functions.

Collectively, the members of the work team are expected to have
familiarity with the use of source control systems, the XML formats
used for both XEPs and XSF registries, basic build and release
processes, and mailing list administration. Members of the team are
also expected to work with appropriate attention to detail and
awareness of information security, to coordinate amongst themselves
regarding the rapid and transparent handling of their tasks, and to
treat XEP authors and information registrants with honesty and respect.

Members of the work team shall be selected by the XMPP Council after a
call for volunteers from among the XSF membership, and shall be approved
by the XSF Board of Directors.

[1] XEP-0001: XMPP Extension Protocols


[3] XEP-0053: XMPP Registrar Function