XSF und Google Summer of Code 2022

XSF and GSoC 2022 Logo

Zur Kenntnis: Die Hauptkommunikation zu dem Thema findet auf englisch statt und nur die englischen Informationen gelten als offiziell.

Die XMPP Standards Foundation (XSF) plant, als gastgebende Organisation am Google Summer of Code 2022 teilzunehmen. Wenn Sie daran interessiert sind, als Student (oder einfach nur als Open-Source-Neuling), Mentor oder XMPP-Projekt teilzunehmen, ist dies die Seite, mit der du beginnen kannst!

Wenn du dir vorstellen kannst, während des Sommers in Teilzeit (oder sogar Vollzeit) an einem Open-Source-Softwareprojekt zu arbeiten, dann sollten Sie sich überlegen, an einem XMPP-Kommunikationsprojekt mitzuwirken und am Google Summer of Code 2022 teilzunehmen!

XMPP - das Extensible Messaging and Presence Protocol

XMPP ist das Extensible Messaging and Presence Protocol, eine Reihe offener Technologien für Instant Messaging, Präsenz, Chats mit mehreren Teilnehmern, Sprach- und Videoanrufe, Zusammenarbeit, leichtgewichtige Middleware, Content Syndication und allgemeines Routing von XML-Daten. XMPP wurde ursprünglich in der Open-Source-Community von Jabber entwickelt, um eine offene, dezentrale Alternative zu den damaligen geschlossenen Instant-Messaging-Diensten zu bieten.

Google Summer of Code 2022

Der Google Summer of Code ist ein internationales, jährlich stattfindendes Programm, bei dem Google Stipendien an Teilnehmer vergibt, die während des Sommers erfolgreich ein freies und quelloffenes Software-Coding-Projekt durchführen. Die Projektideen werden von den gastgebenden Organisationen aufgelistet, die sich mit der Entwicklung von Open-Source-Software befassen, aber die Schüler können auch eigene Projektideen vorschlagen.

Erste Schritte

Wenn du teilnehmen möchtest, empfehlen wir dir die folgenden Vorbereitungen:

Schauen dir auch unsere Medienkanäle an!

Darüber hinaus seid ihr eingeladen, mit unserem Flyer vor Ort zu werben, wie z.B. ein schwarzes Brett, für die bevorstehende Veranstaltung. Bitte seid so nett und fragt, ob ihr den Flyer aufhängen dürft.

Wir freuen uns auf diesen Ausblick und kommt auf uns zu!

  • XSF Organisation Admin

Quellen

  • Google Summer of Code, Wikipedia contributors, Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 22 November 2021 23:03 UTC, 22 January 2022 14:31 UTC, Permanent link, revision history statistics, 1056637774
  • GSoC-icon.svg, Wikimedia Commons contributors, Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository, Date of last revision: 17 June 2021 12:10 UTC, 22 January 2022 14:33 UTC, Permanent link, 569574711

XSF and GSoC 2022 Logo

The XMPP Standards Foundation (XSF) is planning to participate as a hosting organisation in the Google Summer of Code 2022. If you are interested to participate as student (or simply newcomer to open-source), mentor or XMPP project this is the page to start with!

If you can imagine yourself part time (or even full time) working on an open-source software project during the summer, then consider to join an XMPP real-time communication technology project and participate in the Google Summer of Code 2022!

XMPP - the Extensible Messaging and Presence Protocol

XMPP is the Extensible Messaging and Presence Protocol, a set of open technologies for instant messaging, presence, multi-party chat, voice and video calls, collaboration, lightweight middle-ware, content syndication, and generalized routing of XML data. XMPP was originally developed in the Jabber open-source community to provide an open, decentralized alternative to the closed instant messaging services at that time.

Google Summer of Code 2022

The Google Summer of Code is an international annual program in which Google awards stipends to contributors who successfully complete a free and open-source software coding project during the summer. Project ideas are listed by host organizations involved in open-source software development, though students can also propose their own project ideas.

Participating projects

  • Converse.js: Converse is a web-based XMPP client. It has different modes, allowing it to be integrated into existing websites, used as a webchat for a specific chatroom, or used as a full-fledged XMPP client on its own. There is also an electron-based version available.
  • Dino: Dino is a modern open-source chat client for the desktop. It focuses on providing a clean and reliable Jabber/XMPP experience while having your privacy in mind.
  • Psi: An XMPP client for advanced users.
  • PGPainless: PGPainless is a Java OpenPGP library. While it is not strictly an XMPP related project, it has its origins in GSoC and the XMPP community, since it was created as a Summer of Code project in 2018.

First steps

If you want to participate we recommoned the following preparations:

Checkout our media channels!

Furthermore you are invited to promote this upcoming event with our flyer locally at designated places like blackboards. Please be so kind and ask if you are allowed to place the flyer.

Looking forward and stay tuned! –The XSF Organisation Admin

Sources

  • Google Summer of Code, Wikipedia contributors, Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, 22 November 2021 23:03 UTC, 22 January 2022 14:31 UTC, Permanent Link
  • GSoC-icon.svg, Wikimedia Commons contributors, Wikimedia Commons, the free media repository, Date of last revision: 17 June 2021 12:10 UTC, 22 January 2022 14:33 UTC, Permanent Link, 569574711