XMPP Standards Foundation (XSF)

The XMPP Standards Foundation (also known as the XSF and formerly the Jabber Software Foundation) is an independent, nonprofit standards development organisation whose primary mission is to define open protocols for presence, instant messaging, and real-time communication and collaboration on top of the IETF’s Extensible Messaging and Presence Protocol (XMPP).

The XSF also provides information and infrastructure to the worldwide community of Jabber/XMPP developers, service providers, and end users. In addition, the XSF administers the Jabber Trademark Licensing Program.

At the core of the XSF is its elected Membership who, in turn, elect a Council (the technical leadership) and Board (the business leadership). The Board also appoints various work teams (such as the editor team and infrastructure team) as well as the Executive Director, Treasurer, and Secretary.

If you have an interest in XMPP standards, it is straightforward to become a Member of the XSF. (See a list of XSF members here)

The Board

The Board of Directors of the XMPP Standards Foundation oversees the business affairs of the organisation. As elected by the XSF membership, the Board of Directors for 2016-2017 consists of the following individuals:

  • Ralph Meijer is the lead developer of several Jabber-related projects and services, including Wokkel and the XMPP support in Twisted, the Idavoll pubsub component, and Planet Jabber. Ralph has been member of the XMPP Council from 2004 to 2013 and Director since 2013. You can find him on Twitter and chat with him on XMPP
  • Matthew Wild is a founder of the Prosody XMPP server project and a number of smaller XMPP projects. Matthew has been a member of the XMPP Council since 2009, has authored and co-authored various XEPs and helps maintain the Jabber.org IM service.
  • Arc Riley has been contributing to the free software community for over two decades, and maintains a large number of freely licensed XMPP packages. He lead for Python XML-SIG, mentor students working on XMPP-related projects and frequenly presents on XMPP (lightning talks, poster sessions, workshops, etc).
  • Nicolas Vérité is a Product Owner for MongooseIM and Mangosta clients for iOS and Android. In the past, he has worked with the JabberFr community and ProcessOne on ejabberd.
  • Martin Hewitt is employed by Surevine. His primary XMPP interest is in using federation to make systems that fit an organisation, not the other way around.

The Council

The XMPP Council is the technical steering group that approves XMPP Extension Protocols. The Council is governed by the XSF Bylaws and XEP-0001, as augmented by various policies and procedures.

The Council is elected by the members of the XMPP Standards Foundation. In the interest of transparency, chatroom logs and mailing list archives are available (anyone can subscribe to the mailing list, but only Council members can post).

The Council (2016-2017) consists of the following individuals:

  • Sam Whited has authored and co-authored a number of XEPs and is an occasional contributor to various XMPP clients and servers. He also serves on the Editor Team and can most easily be reached via XMPP.
  • Tobias Markmann currently works on the Swift chat client and related projects at Isode Ltd., has authored a couple XEPs, and has previously been serving the XMPP Council from 2012-2014 and in 2016.
  • Dave Cridland works on Metre and Openfire and nebulous things at Surevine; you're welcome to chat via XMPP.
  • Daniel Gultsch is the maintainer of the Android client Conversations and operates an XMPP domain hosting service. He has also (co-) created several XEPs. Contact information can be found on his website.
  • Emmanuel Gil Peyrot is a maintainer of the poezio client, the slixmpp Python library, system administrator for JabberFR and XMPP enthousiast; you can contact him for anything via XMPP.